Cyclone Festival of Cycling, an event for riders of all abilities and ages

Cyclone Festival of Cycling

12 Treherne Road, High West Jesmond, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne NE2 3NP

+44 (0)7710 635514

Event Info

The 2018 HSBC UK National Road Race Championships will take place on Sunday 1st July and will be the closing event of the four-day Cyclone Festival of Cycling. The best male and female riders in the country will compete to be the National Champion is Senior and Under-23 categories.

The women's race will be in the morning and will incorporate the Curlew Cup, the trophy awarded to the winner of the annual women's race on the final day of the Cyclone Festival. The men's race will be in the afternoon and will incorporate the historic Beaumont Trophy, first awarded in 1952 and presented to the winner of the cyclone Festival's elite men's race.


Enter 2018 HSBC UK National Road Race Championships (link)


Full details of the routes, including spectator points  - Route Map


Women's Race / Men's Race - Details of timings, facilities etc (word files)


National Road Championships

 Year Senior Men
 Senior Women
 2017 Steve Cummings
 Lizzie Deignan
 2016 Adam Blythe
 Hannah Barnes
 2015 Peter Kennaugh
 Lizzie Armitstead
 2014 Peter Kennaugh
 Laura Trott
 2013 Mark Cavendish
 Lizzie Armitstead
 2012 Ian Stannard
 Sharon Laws
 2011 Bradley Wiggins
 Lizzie Armitstead
 2010 Geraint Thomas
 Emma Pooley

Beaumont Trophy & Curlew Cup

 Year Beaumont Trophy
 Curlew Cup
 2017 Peter Williams
 Julie Erskine
 2016 Dion Smith
 Nikki Juniper
 2015 Chris Latham
 Laura Massey
 2014 Kristian House
  Katie Archibald
 2013 Dean Downing
Hannah Barnes
 2012 Russell Downing
 Dame Sarah Storey
 2011 Bradley Wiggins
 Lizzie Armitstead
 2010 Chris Newton


Sir Bradley Wiggins won the Beaumont Trophy twice, including in 2011, the last time the Beaumont Trophy was also the National Road Championships. The women's race winner that year was Lizzie Deignan, then Lizzie Armitstead, the first of her four national Road titles.

The 2011 Women's race paved the way for the launch of the Curlew Cup in 2012 and the race has rapidly established itself as one of the toughest and most iconic races in the calendar and has been part of the National women's Road Series in recent years.

In 2012 the Race was won by Dame Sarah Storey and in 2013 by Hannah Barnes. In 2014 the event was won by Katie Archibald who has since gone on to Olympic and World titles on the Track. In 2015 the race was won by Laura Massey, in 2016 by Nicki Juniper and in 2017 by Julie Erskine.

The Beaumont Trophy was was first run in 1952, the year after the organising club, Gosforth Road Club, was formed. The trophy was presented by Rex Beaumont, a cycle and motorcycle wholesaler based in Newcastle. The first edition of the race was won by Stan Blair riding for Viking Cycles and started and finished in Gosforth Park where the club had its headquarters.

Since then, the race has been won by many famous riders including Sir Bradley Wiggins, Chris Newton, Russell and Dean Downing, Malcolm Elliott and Don Sanderson. In recent years the race has been part of British Cycling's national series, the Premier Calendar, before gaining international status and being run as a UCI 1.2 event in 2013 - 2017.





Help Support The Cyclone Festival Of Cycling

Make A Donation

Social Feeds